Picture
Image courtesy of thephotolic/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

So now that the initial post is over here is my second blog! I know Veteran's day is next Monday but this is one of my favorite days of the year. So I had to write a two part blog on this amazing day!

What is Veteran's Day? Well, it's a day recognized by the nation to respect and honor those who have served. Of course we really shouldn't restrict ourselves to thank them one day a year or if you want to throw in Memorial Day, twice a year. We should thank a Veteran every chance we run into one. They served our country and we would not have the freedoms we do without them.

Veteran's Day... why do I care so much about this day? Because I LOVE seeing celebrations pop up all around the areas and seeing parades all geared towards our veterans. I love being able to see a group of Veterans, thank them, and just have a chat with them. I can tell that when they see I genuinely care about them and thank them sincerely their eyes are so full of joy and light. That brings me so much happiness! These veterans are the ones who are amazing (and of course the spouses too!).

I remember a little bit before Veteran's day a couple years ago, the local VFW was doing a donation/drawing for something at our local grocery store. I can't remember exactly what it was, as it didn't matter I just wanted to donate some money to the organization. I was talking with one of the ladies there and we struck up a conversation. I was telling her about how I was a military spouse. So we talked for awhile and come to find out she, herself had served! I could have stayed all day and talked but then I had to get back home.

The military spouses whose husbands were in Vietnam made me realize how incredibly lucky we are today. I couldn't imagine being able to only write letters to my husband as the ONLY form of communication. I am definitely blessed to have been access granted to video chats, online chats, phone calls, emails, care packages, and even snail mail letters.

So my challenge to you for this week and weekend is to at least thank a vet. How will you try to help a Vet this week? Stay tuned for Part 2 of this blog next week!








Leave a Reply.